2012 – Minor League Football – Div 1 – Navan O’Mahonys away to Na Fianna – Enfield.

By Gerry McGrane


Div 1 Football – Minor League

NaFianna 0-9
O’Mahonys 3-10

A goal from full forward Ben Coogan in the first minute set the tone for this match which was played in very soft conditions in Enfield. A point from Peter Butler and two frees from Robbie Keeleghan saw O’Mahonys ahead by 1-3 before the hosts registered their first point after 10 mins had elapsed. O’Mahonys kicked three more points from play to lead 1-6 to 0-5 at the interval.

Kevin O’Hanlon opened the scores at the resumption with a well taken point from play before Ben Coogan struck the net again after six minutes had elapsed. Captain Vinny Moore registered the last score of the match with an opportunistic goal in the last minute.

Regular full back James O’Malley was sidelined through illness but was ably replaced by Eamonn Ferris who kept his marker quiet for the duration. Ben Coogan also featured well and notched 2-1 for his efforts. Both Coogan and Ferris led by example while both were playing out of their normal positions. This was a good overall team performance and O’Mahony’s finished deserved winners.


1. Barry Reilly
2. Andy Leech
3. Eamonn Ferris
4. Timmy Murtagh
5. Darragh Greene
6. Declan McGuinness
7. Seamus Corkery
8. Dylan Regan
9. Vinny Moore
10. Bryan Gibney
11. Robert Keeleghan
12. Kevin O’Hanlon
13. Evan Bird
14. Ben Coogan
15. Peter Butler

Halftime Score:

NaFianna 0-5
O’Mahonys 1-6


Ben Coogan 2-1
Peter Butler 0-1
Rob Keeleghan 0-3 (all frees)
Vinny Moore 1-3
Kevin O’Hanlon 0-1
Declan McGuinness 0-1


Cormac McEntaggert for Seamus Corkery
Fiachra MacGabhann for Evan Bird
Stephen Monaghan for Bryan Gibney
Chris Bell for Peter Butler