A FL Div 1: Champions quell depleted ‘Gaels

By Club


Navan O’Mahonys comfortably outscored local rivals Simonstown Gaels in this A FL Division 1 opener at Paddy O’Brien Park on Friday night.

Navan O’Mahonys …….. 2-16
Simonstown Gaels …….. 0-6

The Keegan Cup holders recovered from a 0-1 to 0-3 early deficit to finish with 16 points to spare. Four points on the spin midway through the half set O’Mahonys on their way.

Cathal Smyth’s well-struck 27th minute penalty, for a foul on Alan Forde, boosted O’Mahonys to a a 1-7 to 0-4 half-time lead.

Four minutes into the second-half Nathan O’Brien (free) pulled one back for Simonstown. O’Mahonys’ response was a brilliant David Bray goal.

David Bray’s men outscored the ‘Gaels by 0-9 to 0-1 thereafter and finished with seven different scorers.

Stephen Bray and Cathal Smyth shared scoring honours with 0-5 and 1-2 respectively. David Bray (1-1) and Shane Gillespie (0-4) were next in the scoring stakes.

O’Mahonys – Marcas Brennan; Conor Doyle, Niall McKeigue, Darragh Maguire; Brian Dillon, Gary O’Brien, James O’Reilly; Cormac McGuinness (0-1), Conor Finnegan; Alan Forde (0-2), Stephen Bray (0-5, 2fs), Rory Maguire (0-1); Shane Gillespie (0-4, 2fs), David Bray (1-1), Cathal Smyth (1-2, 1-0 pen). Subs – Stephen Monaghan for Finnegan (bc 41), David Quirke for Brennan (52), Andy Leech for O’Reilly (53), Kevin O’Hanlon for Dillon (59).

Simonstown – Robert Burlingham; Eanna Donoghue, Brendan O’Donnell, Shane Gallagher; Mark Gardiner, Niall Mahon, Conor Wickham; Conor Sheridan (0-1), Shane Barry; Niall McMahon, Joe Lyons (0-1), Stephen Moran, Nicky O’Brien (0-1), Mark McCabe, Nathan O’Brien (0-3, 1f). Subs – Brian McGrath for McMahon (bc 27), Michael Brennan for Mahon (bc 36).

Referee – David Gough (Slane)