A FL Div 1: O’Mahonys get first points of league v Summerhill

By Club


Navan O’Mahonys earned their first points in the A FL Division 1 with a big home win over Summerhill on Sunday afternoon.


O’Mahonys …….. 3-16
Summerhill ……… 0-10


With three defeats behind them, O’Mahonys made most of the running in this fixture and remained in front following Sean Keating’s point 12 seconds in. However, it was goals in quick succession from Stephen Bray and Jake Regan at the start of the second quarter that put some daylight between the sides.


At the other end good work by Ian Matthews and later team captain Niall McKeigue prevented the SFC champions from getting in for goal. The latter turned a Damien Byrne goal attempt over the bar at the expense of a point.


At the break the board read 2-8 to 0-5 and O’Mahonys drew first blood in the second-half with Kevin Reilly expertly firing low to the net at the Brews Hill end in the 37th minute following a patient build-up.


O’Mahonys outscored Summerhill by 0-8 to 0-5 over the remainder of the hour as David Nelson’s men closed in their first win of the campaign following earlier losses to Gaeil Colmcille, Donaghmore-Ashbourne and Simonstown.


Of the 29 scores registered only three came from frees while a tally to 12 wides (to Summerhill’s two) is something to note. Nine different players contributed to O’Mahonys’ total one of which came from a placed ball.


O’Mahonys – David Quirke; Stephen O’Toole, Niall McKeigue, Ian Matthews; James O’Reilly, Shane Crosby, Gary O’Brien (0-1); Kevin Reilly (1-0), Darragh Maguire; Ruairi O Coileain (0-4), Stephen Bray (1-3), Henry Finnegan (0-1); Shane Gillespie (0-3), Jake Regan (1-2, 1f), Sean Keating (0-1). Subs ¬†– Alan Forde for Keating (37), James O’Malley for Matthews (45), Damien Moran (0-1) for Maguire (49), Darragh Smyth for Finnegan (53), Ross ¬†Geraghty for Regan (54).


Summerhill – Tony McDonnell; John Lavelle, Caolain Young, Gary Rispin; Alan Lyons, Richie Hatton, Padraig Geraghty; Micheal Byrne (0-1,f), Damien Byrne (0-1); David Larkin (0-2), Brian Ennis (0-1,f), Ciaran Gillespie; Paul Rispin (0-1), Adrian Kenny, Kevin Ryan (0-3). Subs – Ross Tallon (0-1) for Gillespie (5, blood sub), Tallon for Geraghty (ht), Eoghan Jennings for Lyons (47), Eamon Ryan for Kenny (49).


Referee – Colm McManus (Gaeil Colmcille)