A FL Division 1: O’Mahonys held at home by ‘Tones

By Club


Navan O’Mahonys had to settle for a draw with visitors Wolfe Tones in this A FL Division 1 fixture on Tuesday night.

Navan O’Mahonys ……… 0-9 Wolfe Tones …………….. 0-9

O’Mahonys looked set for their seventh win of the league campaign when leading by five points, 0-9 to 0-4, with just under a quarter-of-an-hour remaining.

The leaking of five unanswered points meant the holders had to settle for their first draw of this league campaign. Midfielder Alan Callaghan completed the Tones’ comeback with the hour almost up.

In a closely contested opening quarter both sides hit the front while the scores were tied twice. Two Brian Dillon points bookended similar scores from Cian Ward and Stephen Sheppard.

A fine Cormac McGuinness effort restored O’Mahonys’ lead as the game entered its second quarter. Further scores from Henry Finnegan (free), Gary O’Brien and Darragh Maguire left it 0-6 to 0-2 at the break to the home side.

Within three minutes of the restart there were five points in it after Maguire registered his second score. Two Fiachra Ward frees improved matters for the ‘Tones.
Paddy Smyth left four in it again midway through the half before wing-back James O’Reilly posted what proved to be O’Mahonys’ final score in the 47th minute.

While shutting out the home side in the latter stages, Wolfe Tones tagged on five scores to improve their position in the lower reaches of the table.

Cian Ward got the rally rolling before Sheppard and Fiachra Ward (free) left two in it with 52 minutes gone. Sub David O’Neill cut the gap to the minimum before Callaghan’s levelling score.

O’Mahonys lie in third place in the table, a point behind second placed Skryne with two games in hand on the Tara-men. The sides are due to meet at Skryne on Sunday next, 5.0.

O’Mahonys’ remaining round-robin fixtures are both at home: Duleek-Bellewstown (Wednesday, July 31, 7.30) and Blackhall Gaels (Saturday, August 3, 7.0).

O’Mahonys¬† – Marcas Brennan; Stephen O’Toole, Niall McKeigue, Ian Matthews; James O’Reilly (0-1), Shane Crosby, Gary O’Brien (0-1); Cormac McGuinness (0-1), Damien Moran; Darragh Maguire (0-2), Henry Finnegan (0-1 f), Brian Dillon (0-2); Shane Gillespie, Paddy Smyth (0-1),¬† Stephen MacGabhann. Subs – Mark Ward for McGuinness (45),Cathal Smith for MacGabhann (51), Darragh Smyth for Gillespie (59).

Wolfe Tones – David Nolan; Richie Brady, Ciaran McLoughlin, David Coleman; Stephen Sheppard (0-2), Eoghan Harrington, Aodhan McKeown; Stephen Corrigan, Alan Callaghan (0-1); Mark Coleman, Fiachra Ward (0-3 fs), Niall McLoughlin; Cian Ward (0-2), Paddy Caffrey, Eanna Harrington. Subs – Alan Fox for McKeown (30), David O’Neill (0-1) for M Coleman, Darren McGrath for Caffrey (both 45), Niall Reilly for Eanna Harrington (55).

Referee – Cormac Reilly (St Mary’s)