A FL Division 1: O’Mahonys hit for five at Ashbourne

By Club


Navan O’Mahonys’ bid for league honours was undermined with this heavy defeat at Ashbourne on Tuesday night.

Donaghmore-Ashbourne …….. 5-13
Navan O’Mahonys¬† …………… 0-11

It was the third loss of the campaign following recent losses to St Patrick’s and Seneschalstown.

David Nelson’s men opened with points from Ruairi O Coileain (free) and David Bray. Donaghmore-Ashbourne’s response saw them hit the front in the ninth minute courtesy of Michael Deegan.

There Sean Kelly’s men remained to maintain top spot and their unbeaten record. Bryan Menton and Ciaran Ellis netted to leave the hosts 2-9 to 0-6 ahead at the break after Jake Regan’s goal attempt was parried by Andy Colgan.

O Coileain landed two points – one play, one 45 – within six minutes of resumption. Deegan replied with two goals in a five-minute spell. Sean Curran added the fifth. His close range flick addiing further gloss to their eighth win in nine league fixtures.

Donaghmore-Ashbourne – Andy Colgan; JP Casserly, Cormac McGill, Tomas McGovern; Daragh McGovern, Shane Melia, Paul Gilligan (0-1); Conor Carey, Sean Curran (1-0); Bryan Menton (1-1), James Colgan, Cathal Field; Ciaran Ellis (1-3, Dylan Brady (0-3), Michael Deegan (2-4, 0-1f). Subs – Ciaran Beirne for Casserly (41), David Dowd for Field (51), Kevin Fenton (0-1) for Brady (51), Iarlaith O’Donnell for Gilligan (52).

Navan O’Mahonys – Marcas Brennan; Conor Doyle, Niall McKeigue, James O’Malley; Brian Dillon, James O’Reilly, Gary O’Brien; Cormac McGuinness, Stephen Monaghan; Ruairi O Coileain (0-6 2fs, 1 45), Rory Maguire (0-1),, Daragh Maguire; Jake Regan (0-3 2fs), David Bray (0-1), Cathal Smyth. Subs – Andy Leech for McKeigue (29), Mikey O’Reilly for Doyle (42),. Robbie Keeleghan for Bray (49), Cormac McEntaggart for Monaghan (56).

Referee – Jack Gordon (Walterstown)