A FL Division 1: O’Mahonys miss chance to top table

By Club


Navan O’Mahonys missed the chance to top the A FL Division 1 table with this narrow home loss to Dunshaughlin on Tuesday night.

Dunshaughlin ……. 1-10
O’Mahonys ……….. 0-11

The outcome leaves Dunshaughlin unbeaten and in pole position while it was a third defeat in eight league outings for O’Mahonys.

David Nelson’s men never led and found themselves six points off the pace, 0-2 to 1-5, after 22 minutes. Tadhg O Dushlaine was Dunshaughln’s goalscorer.

O’Mahonys improved and Jake Regan was unlucky to see his punched effort from David Dillon’s delivery crash against the crossbar.

Dunshaughlin led by 1-5 to 0-4 at half-time. Aided by some fine points from Rory Maguire, Darragh Smyth and Alan Forde, O’Mahonys trimmed the deficit to the minimum on two occassion but never got any closer to Kit Henry’s team.

Shane Gillespie had a goal chance smothered by Dunshaughlin ‘keeper Michael Ahern while sub Robbie Keeleghan closed O’Mahonys’ scoring.

Dunshaughlin – Michael Ahern; Daniel Ormsby, Alastair Doyle, Fergal Delany; Mark Devanney, Caoimhin King, Tadhg O Dushlaine (1-3); John Crimmins (0-1), Ray Maloney (0-1); Shane Gallogly (0-2), Trevor Dowd, Ben Duggan; Conor Devereux, Niall Murphy, Cathal O’Dwyer (0-2, 1f). Subs – Niall Byrne (0-1) for Devereux (ht), Tommy Johnson for Gallogly (bc 53).

O’Mahonys – Marcas Brennan; Conor Finnegan, Niall McKeigue, James O’Malley; James O’Reilly, Shane Crosby (0-1), Darragh Smyth (0-2); Darragh Maguire, Damien Moran; Ross Geraghty (0-1), Alan Forde (0-2), Rory Maguire (0-2); Shane Gillespie, Jake Regan (0-2, 1f), David Dillon. Subs – Mikey Kelly for Geraghty (22), Robbie Keeleghan (0-1) for Kelly (45), Andy Leech for Maguire (60)

Referee – David Gough (Slane).