A FL Division 1: O’Mahonys sign-off with a win

By Club


Navan O’Mahonys completed their A FL Division home programme¬† with a decisive win over Duleek-Bellewstown on Wednesday night in the first competitve game played at Paddy O’Brien Park.

Navan O’Mahonys …….. 4-11
Duleek-Bellewstown ….. 0-13

Nine different players, including late sub Kevin O’Hanlon, got on the score sheet but it was four goals from as many different players that determined the outcome.

Darragh Maguire’s 19th minute effort got the sequence going and left the board reading 1-4 to 0-2. Prompted by Conal McGinley, John Flood and Mark Collins, Duleek-Bellewstown got the next four scores to cut the gap to the minimum with the interval beckoning.

Then Gary O’Brien specultative effort wound up in the Duleek-Bellewstown net. David Nelson’s men created other goal openings but were denied on a couple of occasions by Anthony Dowling and his defence. This included a Sean Keating attempt Dowling saved with his feet before David Bray’s point left it 2-5 to 0-6 at the break.

Conor Finnegan and Damien Moran created the opening for Sean Keating’s goal shortly after the restart. O’Mahonys kicked-on with David Bray’s 44th minute point being the highlight of the next sequence of scores. Earlier Bray was denied a goal by Dowling but the full-forward managed to snatch a point from the situation.

O’Mahonys led by 3-9 to 0-7 before Duleek-Bellewstown produced another scoring burst with McGinley (three) and Flood contributing. On a landmark evening in the club’s history, O’Hanlon completed the scoring within seconds of his introduction.

O’Mahonys – Colm Honan; Darragh Smyth, Shane Crosby, Andy Leech; Brian Dillon, Conor Finnegan, Gary O’Brien (1-0);¬† Damien Moran, Stephen MacGabhann (0-1); Ross Geraghty (0-1) Darragh Maguire (1-0), Henry Finnegan (0-1); Cathal Smyth (0-3), David Bray (0-3), Sean Keating (1-2). Subs – Ian Matthews for MacGabhann (19), Declan McGuinness for Smyth (bc 26), Kevin O’Hanlon (1-0) for McGuinness (56).

Duleek-Bellewstown РAnthony Dowling; Sean Kennedy (0-1), Robin Clarke, James Murphy; Shane Crosby, David Moore, Shane Townley; Stephen Nolan, Padraig Howard;  John Flood (0-4), Mark Collins (0-1), Stephen McArdle; Des Teeling, Conal McGinley (0-7, 4fs), Wayne Noone. Sub РGordon Hynes for Noone (37).

Referee – Gerry Keoghan (Dunsany)