A FL Division 1: Seniors slip to second league defeat

By Club


Navan O’Mahonys slipped to their second A FL Division 1 defeat with this minimum margin loss at home to St Patrick’s on Wednesday night (May 13)

St Patrick’s ………. 2-10
Navan O’Mahonys ……. 1-12

A late scoring surge saw the Stamullen-Julianstown men outscore O’Mahonys by 0-4 to 0-1. The home side posted the final score through top scorer Ruairi O Coileain who finished with seven points to his credit.

The scores were tied five times in a lively first-half. Rory Maguire goaled for O’Mahonys on 15 minutes when placed by Alan Forde. Moments later St Pat’s replied with a similar score from Neil O’Flaherty with Donal Landy providing the assist.

St Pat’s led twice in the second quarter but points from James O’Reilly and O Coileain (free) boosted David Nelson’s men to a 1-6 to 1-5 interval lead.

Four minutes into the second-half O Coileain’s goal attempt was comfortably gather by St Pat’s ‘keeper Robert Cluskey. Points from Shane Gillespie and Henry Finnegan moved O’Mahonys 1-8 to 1-5 clear after 37 minutes.

Two minutes later a Donal Landy goal levelled matters for the sixth time. A positive response saw O’Mahonys lead by two points on as many occasions before St Pat’s late surge.

A brace of points each from Niall Mooney and sub Shane Landy moved St Pat’s two clear deep into stoppage time. O Coileain’s seventh point, in the fifth minute of added time completed the scoring.

St Patrick’s – Robert Cluskey; Adam Byrne, Diarmuid Quinn, David Stafford (0-1); Finian Everard (0-1), Ray Russell, Barry Mooney; Shane Dowling, Alan Vickers (0-2, 1f,1 45); Andrew Mooney, Niall Mooney (0-3, 1f), David McQuillan; Donal Landy (1-1, 0-1f), Kieran Lynch, Neil O’Flaherty (1-0). Subs – Ciaran Calvey for Everard (41), Brian Calvey for McQuillan (45), Shane Landy (0-2) for O’Flaherty (52).

Navan O’Mahonys – Marcas Brennan; Darragh Smyth, Niall McKeigue, Darragh Maguire; James O’Reilly (0-1), Shane Crosby, Brian Dillon; Damien Moran, Stephen Monaghan; Ruairi O Coileain (0-7, 4fs), Rory Maguire (1-0), Henry Finnegan (0-1); Shane Gillespie (0-2 1f), Alan Forde (0-1), Stephen MacGabhann. Subs – Ross Geraghty for MacGabhann (ht), James O’Malley for Smyth (54), David Dillon for Finnegan (56).

Referee – Colm McManus (Gaeil Colmcille).