Division 1 FL v Na Fianna

By Club


Navan O’Mahonys …….. 0-14
Na Fianna ……………….. 0-13

Navan O’Mahonys marked the sixth anniversary, which occurs around this time, of the passing of the club’s legendary mentor – Paddy O’Brien – on the ground that bears his name with a resilient performance that was a fitting tribute to his memory.

That trait saw them turn a five-point deficit into a two-point lead over the middle third to set up a gripping finale. During the latter stages O’Mahonys managed to keep Na Fianna at bay

Scores were tied three times in the quarter before Na Fianna moved 0-8 to 0-3 clear. Before the break, O’Mahonys trimmed the deficit to the minimum with points from David Bray (two free), Robbie Keelegan and Rory Maguire.

David Nelson’s men maintained that momentum from the restart, viagrageneriquefr24.com hititng the front by the 33rd minute through James O’Reilly and Stephen Bray. An Ollie Lewis effort quickly tied the scores for the fifth and final time.

Despite the close contest, Rory Maguire’s point – with assistance from Stephen Bray – earned O’Mahonys a lead they maintained to the end to record their fourth win over the campaign.

O’Mahonys have three games left in the round robin stage with trips to Gaeil Colmcille and Skryne either side of a home game against Wolfe Tones.

Navan O’Mahonys – David Quirke; Daragh Maguire, Conor Finnegan, James O’Malley; Brian Dillon, James O’Reilly (0-1) , Gary O’Brien; Stephen Monaghan, Damien Moran; Rory Maguire (0-2), Ruairi O Coileain (0-4, 2fs), Cathal Smyth; David Bray (0-3, 2fs), Stephen Bray (0-3), Robbie Keeleghan (0-1). Subs – Shane Crosby for Moran (56), Marcas Brennan for Smyth (58), Andy Leech for Finnegan (58).

Na Fianna – Harrison Silke; Johnny Baldwin, Christy Cosgrave, Robert Walsh; Michael Collins (0-3), Anthony Neary, James Geagan; Ollie Lewis (0-3), Brian Queeney; Daniel Queeney (0-1 free), Barry Slevin, Tommy Cosgrave; Barry Clancy, Dean Barrett, Jamie Queeney (0-6, 3fs). Subs – Colin Ryan for Geagan (56), Lee Hyland for Cosgrave (58).

Referee – Colm McManus (Gaeil Colmcille)