Feis Cup – Holders secure ‘semi’ spot

By Club


Second-half goals from Stephen Bray and Niall McKeigue were central to O’Mahonys win over Skryne in this high-scoring Feis Cup quarter-final clash at Donore on Wednesday night.

Navan O’Mahonys ……. 2-16 Skryne ………………….. 1-12

The goals saw O’Mahonys put ten points between the sides by the end of the third quarter and left David Nelson’s men well on the way to a semi-final meeting with Seneschalstown or Clann na nGael.

Just a point, 0-9 to 1-5, separated the sides at the break. Within two minutes of the resumption a flowing move culminated in Stephen Bray’s left-footed drive for O’Mahonys opening goal.

Three David Bray points were part of the scoring burst that continued until the end of the third quarter when it was 2-14 to 1-7. McKeigue’s goal rounded off another fine move in the younger Bray and Gary O’Brien were also involved.

By the end O’Mahonys had eight scorers including sub Ruairi O Coileain. The Brews Hill side responded to the concession of the opening point to Skryne’s Mark Battersby with four similar scores in as many minutes.

O’Mahonys fell behind for the second time, 0-5 to 1-3, when Battersby netted in the 20th minute. Another positive response that included two Shane Gillespie points had the Brews Hill outfit back in the ascendancy.

Skryne regained parity. Henry Finnegan pointed O’Mahonys back in front, where they remained to the end, just before the break with assistance from Gary O’Brien who also scored three times in the opening 30 minutes.

O’Mahonys – Marcas Brennan; Stephen O’Toole, Kevin Reilly, Ian Matthews; Niall McKeigue (1-0) Gary O’Brien (0-3); Damien Moran, Stephen MacGabhann; Shane Gillespie (0-4,1f), Stephen Bray (1-2), Henry Finnegan (0-2); Jake Regan, David Bray (0-3), Paddy Smyth (0-1). Subs – Darragh Maguire for Regan (37), Ruairi O Coileain (0-1) for Moran (37), Shane Crosby for Matthews (49), John Rogers for O’Reilly (51), Sean Keating for Finnegan (60).

Skryne – Felim O’Rourke; Declan Morley, Martin Mulvaney, Mark Jordan; David McGoldrick (0-2, 1f), Ciaran Lenehan, Ronan McCabe; Paddy Fox (0-1), Harry Rooney; Allan Carty (0-2), Paddy O’Rourke (0-1 f), Conor O’Brien (0-1); Brian Davis, Ian Davis (0-1), Mark Battersby (1-4, 0-1f). Subs – Dermot Brennan for McCabe (ht), Niall Lenehan for Jordan (39).

Referee – Liam O’Brien (Duleek-Bellewstown).