Feis Cup: O’Mahonys shown door by Dunshaughlin

By Club


Navan O’Mahonys exited the Feis Cup on Monday evening when going down to Dunshaughlin in a quarter-final fixture at Paddy O’Brien Park

Dunshaughlin ……. 2-12
Navan O’Mahonys … 1-12

A late rally by David Nelson’s men that saw them outscore the visitors by 1-3 to 0-1 just came up short. The high point of that scoring burst was Damien Moran’s 59th minute goal with assistance from Stephen Bray.

O’Mahonys almost forced a levellng goal but the Dunshaughlin defence stood firm.

First-half goals from Fergus Toolan and Cathal O’Dwyer boosted Dunshaughlin to a 2-6 to 0-7 interval advantage.

Points from Rory Maguire and Robbie Keeleghan trimmed the deficit to just three by the 37th minute. Anthony Moyles’ men responded with five points on the spin to lead by eight heading into the final 10 minutes.

A Cormac McGuinness point got the O’Mahonys’ revival going, but it just came up short on this occassion.

Dunshaughlin – Andrew Smith; Adam Kealy, Caoimhin King, Michael Ahern; Danny Quinn, Alastair Doyle, Niall Murphy; Jack Crimmins, Ray Maloney (0-1); Shane Gallogly (0-3), Ronan Geraghty (0-3), Ben Duggan; Tadhg O Dushlaine (0-3, 1 45), Fergus Toolan (1-1), Cathal O’Dwyer (1-1). Subs – Fergal Delaney for Kealy (ht), Dan Ormsby for Quinn (55), Stephen Ward for Toolan (55), David Dunne for Ahern (57), Niall Byrne for Duggan (59).

O’Mahonys – Marcas Brennan; Conor Doyle, Conor, Finnegan, James O’Malley; Brian Dillon, Damien Moran (1-0), Gary O’Brien; Cormac McGuinness (0-1), Stephen Monaghan; Ruairi O Coileain (0-6, 5fs, 1 45), David Bray, Rory Maguire (0-1); Jake Regan (0-2 fs), Stephen Bray, Robbie Keeleghan (0-2). Sub – Darragh Maguire for Regan (ht)

Referee – Padraig Coyle (Seneschalstown)