JFC ‘C’ secure victory over town rivals

By Club


JFC ‘C’ Championship Quarter Final


O’Mahonys 2-8

Simonstown 1-8


O’Mahonys’ youthful side prevailed in this clash of the Navan sides in the knock-out stages of the JFC ‘C’ championship.


The game went down to the wire as both sides went through periods of dominance. An unanswered tally of 1-4 in a ten minute period at the end of the game secured victory for O’Mahonys, with a Keith Russell penalty in the 52nd minute kicking off the O’Mahonys comeback.


The north Navan side started the game the better putting two points on the board in as many minutes before O’Mahonys settled down and took the lead in the 19th minute following two pointed frees from Robbie Keelaghan and a well-taken John Foley point from play.


Simonstown had managed to get in front of goals again and threatened to raise another flag but good defending from the O’Mahonys full back line kept Simonstown at bay.


It appeared that O’Mahonys were on top when Cormac McEnteggart found the net in the 23rd minute to give O’Mahonys a four point advantage. However, Simonstown responded in seconds with a goal that bounced of the post and drifted past O’Mahonys Jason Smyth to reduce the deficit to one.


A well taken point from Robbie Keelaghan in the 26th minute proved to be O’Mahonys last score until Russell’s penalty in the final quarter. Simonstown raised another white flag before the break to leave O’Mahonys a point to the good at half time, 1-4 to 1-3.


Simonstown came out all guns blazing in the second half and were rewarded for their efforts with four unanswered points in the third quarter, giving them a three point advantage.


Russell’s penalty drew the sides level and four further points from the O’Mahonys full forward line as the game drew gave O’Mahonys a four point cushion. A 34th minute point proved to be too little to late for Simonstown and O’Mahonys ran out 2-8 to 1-8 victories when the final whistle was blown with 37 minutes on the clock.


O’Mahonys were best served by Sean McEntaggart, Russell, Keelaghan and McEnteggart.


O’Mahonys: Jason Smyth, Darragh Greene, Conor Doyle, Declan McGuinness, Sean McEntaggart, Keith Russell (1-0 penalty), Tommy Hamilton, Paul McGrath, Jack Walsh, Gavin Fox, Conor Gleeson, Daryl Ratty, Robbie Keelaghan (0-5, 0-4f), Cormac McEnteggart (1-1), John Foley (0-2), Subs: Dale O’Kane for Greene (19), Paul Quinn for Hamilton (36), Ross Geraghty for Fox (44).