JFC C: Third team claim final spot

By Club


Navan O’Mahonys put on a spirited display to overcome Na Fianna in this JFC C semi-final fixture at Trim on Sunday afternoon.

O’Mahonys …… 2-8 Na Fianna ……. 0-10

Blackhall Gaels will be the final opponents as was the case when Navan O’Mahonys last reached the final of this competition 13 years ago.

John Brennan’s charges fell four points in arrears in the opening 12 minutes despite playing with the very strong wind.

Over the next 30 minutes of playing time, O’Mahonys registered 2-8 while keeping Na Fianna scoreless. Barry McEvoy’s accuracy from play and with Robbie Keelegan effective from frees, the scores were tied for the only time with 24 minutes gone.

Keith Russell’s goal from a penalty and two further Keelegan points earned Navan O’Mahonys’ a 1-6 to 0-4 interval advantage.

O’Mahonys added 1-2 within seven minutes of the restart with Shane Stafford getting the goal when set up by McEvoy and Russell.

Though they didn’t score again, they had enough in hand to resist a late Na Fianna rally. Goalkeeper Jason Smyth played his part when saving well from Gavin Gillespie in the 47th minute.

O’Mahonys: Jason Smyth, Timmy Murtagh, Andrew Rogers, Conor Doyle; Declan McGuinness, James O’Malley, Darragh Greene; Vinny Moore, Keith Russell (1-0); Shane Stafford (1-0), Dylan Regan, Daryl Ratty; Robbie Keelaghan (0-4fs), Barry McEvoy (0-4), Corey Leddy. Subs – James Power for Ratty (38), John Brennan for Leddy (53), Gavin Fox for McGuinness (60).

Na Fianna: Sean Coyle; Niall Burke, Shane Burke, James Geoghan; Michael Collins (0-1), Davy Lyons, Padraic Hogan; Niall Reilly, Daniel Gleeson; Damien Downey (0-1), Barry Slevin (0-3), Evan Henrick (0-1); Gavin Gillespie (0-3, 2fs), Sean Griffin (0-1),Seamie Donegan. Subs – David Killoran for Donegan (40), Dylan McDonagh for S Burke (41), Rob Gleeson for N Burke (55), Aaron Farrell for Henrick (56), Lee Hyland for Hogan (60).

Referee – Dessie Smyth (St Ultan’s).