Navan O’Mahonys were well-beaten by Moylagh in the JHC final at Pairc Tailteann on Friday evening.

By Club


Moylagh ………3-15 O’Mahonys ….. 0-6

Tommy Loughran’s men defeated Moylagh in the round robin stage of the championship and started well here before gradually falling further into arrears as the opening half progressed.

Points from John Foley (free) and Gavin Fox earned O’Mahonys an early advantage. In the second quarter, Moylagh gradually asserted themselves and finished the half with a Paddy Rahill goal to lead by 1-7 to 0-3 at the break.

Foley landed the Brews Hill side’s third score from a 26th minute free that left just three points between the sides. Things might have been better for O’Mahonys had Chris O’Connell’s seventh minute goal attempt not struck the woodwork.

Moylagh kicked-on from the restart and were ten points clear, 2-9 to 0-5, by the 34th minute when top scorer Willie McGrath fired in his opening goal. A James Murphy point was O’Mahonys sole reply during this phase of the game.

On a calm dry night, O’Mahonys were outscored by 0-1 to 1-6 over the remainder of the game with team captain Ciaran McGuinness registering his side’s final score.

In the final quarter O’Mahonys lost wing-back Martin Sherlock to a second yellow card, by which point Moylagh were well on the way to a memorable success.

Chris O’Connell was denied a goal in the 43rd minute by a fine block from Moylagh’s Darren Hawden at the expense of a 65 that yielded nothing for the Navan-side.

Moylagh – Thomas Melia; James Tuite, Phillip Graal, Colm Melia; Darren Hawdon, Eamon Boyle, Ciaran Graal; Eanna Brody (0-4 fs), Eoin Gilsenan (0-1); Paddy Gilsenan, Kevin Foley (0-3, 2fs), Sean Og Doyne (0-2); Stephen Tierney (0-1), Paddy Rahill (1-0), Willie McGrath (2-4). Subs – Maurice Quinn for Doyne (41), Thomas Rahill for Tierney (49), Karl Clinton for Tuite (54), Patrick Grall for P Rahill (54), Niall McNelis for P Gilsenan (54).

O’Mahonys – Donal Fitzsimons; Jamie Murtagh, Brendan Corbett, John Scanlon; Ciaran Casey, Ciaran McGuinness (0-1), Martin Sherlock; James Murphy (0-1), Ken Boyd; Peter McLoughlin, John Foley (0-3 fs), Nigel Ryan; Gavin Fox (0-1), Chris O’Connell, Declan Tolster. Subs – Podge Mooney for Murtagh (40), Colin O’Brien for McLoughlin (50), Tommy Donegan for Murphy (55), Jack Bennett for Scanlon (58).

Referee – Gus Martyn (Dunderry)