O’Mahonys go down to Donaghmore/Ashbourne

By Club


This Division 1 A FL encounter between the 2014 county finalists failed to live up to expectations of an enthralling encounter with Donaghmore Ashbourne running out comfortable winners.


Donaghmore/Ashbourne 1-14

O’Mahonys 1-06


Donaghmore/Ashbourne were in control for large periods of this Division 1 A FL tie between O’Mahonys and Donaghmore/Ashbourne and ran out convincing winners. 


A 27 minute spell without scoring from the Navan side either side of half time gave Donaghmore/Ashbourne the opportunity to capitalise on their possession. 


A well taken goal from Cormac McGuinness in the 48th minute left just two points between the sides but this was to be O’Mahonys last score with Donaghmore/Ashbourne responding immediately and putting a further 1-3 on the board in the final stages of the game without any response from the Navan side to take a convincing victory. 


Darragh Maguire opened up the scoring for O’Mahonys, raising the first white flag within the first minute of open play. Donaghmore/Ashbourne were quick to respond, taking advantage of a wayward O’Mahonys defensive pass to get their first point on the board. Donaghmore/Ashbourne controlled the next ten minutes putting a further four points on the board to O’Mahony’s one point from Alan Forde, leaving the score at this point at 0-5 to 0-2 to Donaghmore/Ashbourne. 


O’Mahonys regained composure and David Bray closed the gap to two. A few O’Mahonys shots went wide of the mark before a good move starting with Shane Crosby and Brian Dillon in the half back line saw Stephen Bray set Forde up for his second point of the day. The was quickly followed by a Shane Gillespie point that snuck over the bar. The older of the Bray brothers was once again instrumental in this score but either Bray or Gillespie could have raised the green flag in this passage of play. However, this point did leave the sides level twenty minutes into the game (0-5 a piece).


O’Mahonys were not to score for the remainder of the half while four points in quick succession for Donaghmore/Ashbourne saw them take a four point advantage into the break.


Donaghmore/Ashbourne came out stronger in the second half putting two pointed frees on the board. Stephen Bray reduced the deficit by a further pointed free. The goal from McGuinness further reduced the deficit to two with 12 minutes remaining. O’Mahonys supporters hoped that this would drive the team forward but it was not to be, with Donaghmore/Ashbourne responded with 1-02 in the next three minutes followed by their final score a few minutes later to leave them convincing eight point victors.


O’Mahonys: David Quirke, Darragh Smyth, Niall McKeigue, Brian Dillon, James O’Reilly, Shane Crosby, Gary O’Brien, Cormac McGuinness (1-0), Stephen MacGabhann, Darragh Maguire (0-1), Stephen Bray (0-1f), Alan Forde (0-2), Jake Regan, David Bray (0-1), Shane Gillespie (0-1); Subs: Ruairi ​O Coileain for D Maguire (45 mins), Ross Geraghty for Jake Regan (52 mins), Darragh Maguire for Shane Gillespie (54 mins)