O’Mahonys lose out to Bective in JFC.

By Club


Bective 3-8

O’Mahonys 0-9


Bective’s first string proved too strong for O’Mahonys junior side as three second half goals were decisive to the final scoreline.


The sides were evenly matched for the first half with Bective quickly putting a point on the board. O’Mahonys took some time to settle but a pointed free from John Rogers in the 12th minute followed by a well earned Thomas Cox point from the right wing gave them a slight advantage.


James O’Reilly drove forward to raise another white flag before a Bective free reduced the score difference to the minimum once more. Another Rogers point and a Marty Mulhall ‘45’ for Bective saw the sides go in at the break with the town side up by 0-4 to 0-3. Stephen Monaghan stood out at midfield with excellent catching throughout the game.


Bective came out stronger with a sense of determination after the break and put 1-3 on the board in the space of five minutes soon after the restart, exerting their authority on the game and giving them a five point advantage.


O’Mahonys responded with Darragh Smyth and Rogers raising two white flags from play to keep them in touch. A further 1-2 from Bective once again increased the deficit for O’Mahonys.


Substitute Conor Murphy scored two points in as many minutes before Bective raised their third green flag of the evening, leaving O’Mahonys with too much to do.


Ross Geraghty’s 53rd minute point proved to be the last score of the game as O’Mahonys tried to find the net to claw their way back into the game. A missed penalty from Gary O’Dowd was the best opportunity to find the net as Bective’s defence stood firm as they progressed to the semi-final stage of the competition.


Best for O’Mahonys were Stephen Monaghan, John Rogers and James O’Reilly.


O’Mahonys: David Quirke, Diarmiud Rogers, Cormac Reilly, Andy Leech, James O’Reilly (0-1), Richie Hogan, Paul Quinn, Conor Finnegan, Stephen Monaghan, Darragh Smyth (0-1), John Rogers (0-3, 0-2f), Ruairi Collins, Thomas Cox (0-1), David Dillon, Ross Geraghty (0-1). Subs: Sean Keating for D. Rogers (18), Conor Murphy (0-2, 0-1f) for Cox (40), Gary O’Dowd for Finnegan (49), Peter Butler for Quinn (55), Ciaran McGuinness for Dillon (59)