Seamus Heaney Cup/ A FL Division 1 – Points and silverware for O’Mahonys

By Club


On home ground on Sunday Navan O’Mahonys regained the Seamus Heaney Memorial Cup and scooped a brace of A FL Division 1 points when resisting a late Simonstown rally.  Afterwards, a cheque for €1,000 was presented to Betty Heaney, with proceeds going to the Oncology Unit of Our Lady of Lourdes Hospital, Drogheda.

Navan O’Mahonys ……. 3-12
Simonstown Gaels …… 2-14

Goals from Shane Gillespie, sub Stephen Monaghan and Alan Forde moved O’Mahonys nine points clear, 3-12 to 1-9, early in the final quarter.

Despite the dismissal of Sean Tobin at this point, Simonstown rallied and were lifted by Michael Brennan’s second goal of the hour in the 55th minute that left five points in it.

A patient O’Mahonys’ move that ended with a close range free that Ruairi O Coileain converted left the home side a goal ahead heading into stoppage time.

Simonstown’s bid to get the goal to force extra time yielded only a Padraig McKeever point while O’Mahonys had sub Ross Geraghty dismissed before the end.

Simonstown bossed matters early on and led by 0-5 to 0-2 after 12 minutes. A brief O’Mahonys’ scoring burst yielded a Gillespie goal and a Jake Regan pointed free to leave the home side in front for the first time, 1-3 to 0-5, after 20 minutes.

The pendulum swung Simonstown’s way again and with it came Brennan’s first goal as the visitors moved 1-6 to 1-3 clear after 25 minutes. Points from Forde, O Coileain (free) and Gillespie tied the scores for the third and final time in the game.

A Shane O’Rourke earned Simonstown a 1-7 to 1-6 interval advantage. O’Mahonys resumed with a flourish. Monaghan’s 34th minute goal earned them a lead to would retain to the end.

Ross Geraghty provided the assist for Forde’s goal that left seven points between the sides, 3-10 to 1-9, at the three-quarter mark. Points from Henry Finnegan (within seconds of his introduction) and Regan extended O’Mahonys’ lead before Simonstown rallied.

O’Mahonys – David Quirke; Darragh Smyth, Darragh Maguire, James O’Malley; Brian Dillon, James O’Reilly, Gary O’Brien; Shane Crosby, Cormac McGuinness (0-1); Ruairi O Coileain (0-4 fs), Alan Forde (1-2); Shane Gillespie (1-2); Jake Regan (0-2, 1f), David Bray (0-1), Rory Maguire. Subs – Ross Geraghty for Dillon (27), Stephen Monaghan (1-0) for O’Brien (30), Henry Finnegan (0-1) for Forde (47), Marcas Brennan for Quirke (57).

Simonstown – Mark McCabe; Michael O’Rourke, Eanna Donoghue, Niall McMahon; Seamus Kenny (0-1), Brian O’Donnell (0-1), Colin Wickham; Shane O’Rourke (0-3f), Conor Sheridan; Sean Tobin (0-1f), Padraig McKeever (0-2), Joe Lyons (0-2); Nathan O’Brien, Michael Brennan (2-1), Andrew Kearney (0-3 fs). Subs – Rory O’Connor for Wickham (41), Stephen O’Reilly for Donoghue (41), Alan Farrelly for McMahon (55), Brian McGrath for O’Brien (55), Wayne McCarthy for Kearney (58)

Referee – Colm McManus (Gaeil Colmcille).


DSC_0125 DSC_0128 DSC_0131 DSC_0134