SFC: Holders held by St Pat’s

By Club


An improved second-half showing couldn’t clinch a SFC Group B win for Navan O’Mahonys over St Patrick’s at Duleek on Friday evening.

Navan O’Mahonys ……. 0-15
St Patrick’s ……………. 1-12

The champions overcame the concession of Neil O’Flaherty’s well-taken 11th minute goal from close range to lead by three points, 0-15 to 1-9, after 48 minutes.

However, O’Mahonys were unable to add to their tally thereafter while Jake Regan’s fisted 59th minute effort bounced off the crossbar.

Just as in St Pat’s league win at Brews Hill nine days earlier, sub Shane Landy scored two points in the latter stages. Neil O’Flaherty (free) then tied the scores for the sixth and final time.

St Pat’s came into this game on the back of losses to Ballinlough and Skryne while O’Mahonys were bidding to build on wins over Seneschalstown and Donaghmore-Ashbourne.

With Stephen Bray prominent, O’Mahonys moved 0-3 to 0-1 clear by the eighth minute. Things turned three minutes later when Alan Vickers long delivery was quickly off loaded by Kevin Lynch to Neil O’Flaherty who slid the leather to the champions’ net. That left it 1-2 to 0-4.

The sides shared 10 points over the remainder of the opening half during which the scores were tied four times. Within two minutes of the restart Stephen Bray levelled matters after St Pat’s led by 1-7 to 0-9 at the break.

Shane Gillespie and Alan Forde were prominent in the scoring stakes as O’Mahonys moved three points clear early in the final quarter. By the end six different players were on the scoresheet for the Navan-side.

St Patrick’s – Robert Cluskey; Adam Byrne, David McQuillan, Andy Reilly; JP Ryan, Ray Russell, Barry Moore; Alan Vickers, Ciaran Calvey; David Stafford, Niall Mooney, Andy Mooney; Neil O’Flaherty (1-5, 0-4fs), Kevin Lynch (0-1), Donal Landy (0-4). Subs – Finian Everard for Calvey (42), Shane Landy (0-2) for Ryan (50).

O’Mahonys – Marcas Brennan; Shane Crosby, NIall McKeigue, Darragh Maguire; James O’Reilly, Brian Dillon, Darragh Smyth; Cormac McGuinness, Ruairi O Coileain (0-3, 1f); Rory Maguire, Stephen Bray (0-1), Alan Forde (0-4); Jake Regan (0-2, 1f), David Bray (0-1), Shane Gillespie (0-4). Subs – Henry Finnegan for Maguire (28), James O’Malley for Finnegan (35), Stephen Monaghan for McGuinness (53), Ross Geraghty for Dillon (57).

Referee – Patrick Nelis (Kilmainham).