SFC: Second big win for O’Mahonys

By Club


Navan O’Mahonys made it two wins from two starts in the hoganstand.com SFC Group B when easily outscoring Dunshaughlin at Pairc Tailteann on Saturday night.


Navan O’Mahonys …… 3-22

Dunshaughlin …………. 0-6


A strong first-half showing secured the points for David Nelson’s men who reached half-time leading by 2-13 to 0-4. They conceded just two points there after to finish with 25 to spare.


David Bray led the way with 2-2, netting a goal in each half as O’Mahonys built on their opening round win over Seneschalstown at this venue.


His first goal arrived six minutes in at the old swimming pool end when he finished a Darragh Maguire cross to the net.


His second came in the 59th minute with Kevin Reilly providing the assist. Eight different players got off the mark for O’Mahonys with Stephen Bray second in the scoring stakes with six points (four frees).


Shane Gillespie bagged O’Mahonys’ second goal just before break when his speculative effort deceived Dunshaughlin ‘keeper Ronan Gogan and wound up in the net.


Eight different players got off the mark for O’Mahonys who led by 2-13 to 0-4 at the break. Stephen Ward and Cathal O’Dwyer were narrowly wide with goal attempts for Dunshaughlin in the opening half.


The scoring rate dropped from the resumption with O’Mahonys outscoring Dunshaughlin by 1-9 to 0-2 after the change of ends. By the end 3-16 of the winners’ total came from play.


Scorers: O’Mahonys – David Bray 2-2; Stephen Bray 0-6 (4fs); Shane Gillespie 1-1; Jake Regan (1f, 1 45), Gary O’Brien, Kevin Reilly, Ruairi O Coileain 0-3 each; Darragh Maguire 0-1.

Dunshaughlin – Trevor Dowd, Ben Duggan, Conor Devereux, Stephen Ward, Cathal O’Dwyer (f), Tommy Johnson 0-1 each.


Navan O’Mahonys – Marcas Brennan; Stephen O’Toole, Niall McKeigue, Stephen MacGabhann; James O’Reilly, Shane Crosby, Gary O’Brien; Kevin Reilly, Darragh Maguire; Ruairi O Coileain, Stephen Bray Paddy Smyth; Shane Gillespie, Jake Regan, David Bray. Subs – Ian Matthews for MacGabhann (17).


Dunshaughlin – Ronan Gogan; Alastair Doyle, Michael Ahern, Fearghal Delaney; Eoin Hagarty, Caoimhin King, Tadhg O Dushlaine; Ray Maloney (C), Fergus Toolan; Mark Devanney, Trevor Dowd, Ben Duggan; Conor Devereux, Stephen Ward, Cathal O’Dwyer. Subs – Tommy Johnson for Hagarty (27), Jack Crimmins for Maloney (ht), Dan Ormsby for Johnson (43), Hagarty for Devereux (57).


Referee – Padraig Coyle (Seneschalstown)