SHC – Seniors floored by the ‘Gaels

By Club


Navan O’Mahonys finished a distant second to Blackhall Gaels in this SHC Group B opener at Kilmessan on Saturday evening.

Blackhall Gaels …….. 3-10
Navan O’Mahonys ……. 0-6

In scoring terms the damage was done in the second half when O’Mahonys were outscored by 0-2 to 3-6.

The scores were tied at 0-4-each at half-time. However, Blackhall upped a couple of gears on the resumption and added five unanswered points within 10 minutes of the restart.

The opening goal arrived in the 44th minute when Dermot Carty’s underhit free wound up in the O’Mahonys’ net.

Final quarter goals from Niall Mangan and top scorer Jonathan Meyler added gloss to the ‘Gaels’ win.

O’Mahonys lost David Dillon to a second yellow card before the end

The sides were level four times in the first-half when both teams had two spells in the lead.

Before the game a minute’s silence was observed in memory of Noel Quirke who died recently. Noel was a member of the Navan O’Mahonys team that won the SHC in 1985 and 1986. His sons David and Stephen are members of the current O’Mahonys senior hurling panel.

Blackhall Gaels – Emmet Dalton; Niall Kelly, Conor Delany, David McGowan; Paul Kelly, Thomas Delany, Thomas Murphy; Stephen Morris (0-1), Colm Whitty (0-1); Alan Nestor (0-1), Jonathan Meyler (1-6, 5fs), Patrick Smith; Ciaran Devanney, Niall Mangan (1-0) , Dermot Carty (1-1, 1-0f). Subs – Dan Carty for Devanney (29), Thomas Coyle for Mangan (58), Patrick Smith for H Smith (58), Nigel O’Hora for McGowan (60).

O’Mahonys – John Gleeson; Nigel Ryan, Richie Hogan, Mark Usher; Mark O’Rourke, Cormac Reilly, Shane Crosby; Jack Walsh, Mikey Kelly; David Dillon, Kevin O’Rourke (0-1), Colin O’Rourke; Shane O’Brien,John Foley (0-4fs), Paddy Skehan. Subs – David Quirke for C O’Rourke (18), Andrew Snow for O’Brien (20), Peter McLoughlin for Skehan (37), Donal Hogan (0-1) for Quirke (51).

Referee – Marcus Quinn (Clann na nGael)