SHC: Skehan points O’Mahonys to first win

By Club


Paddy Skehan’s stoppage time point earned Navan O’Mahonys a minimum margin SHC Group B win over Dunderry at Athboy on Saturday evening.

O’Mahonys ……. 1-17
Dunderry ……….. 1-16

Skehan’s eighth point of the game fended off a strong Dunderry rally that almost saw last year’s IHC winners claim something from this round two refixture.

O’Mahonys were never headed as they claimed their first points of the campaign, at the third attempt. Skehan and Dunderry’s David Gilkeson posted some fine scores from play and placed balls on a great evening for hurling – overcast, calm and dry.

With a better spread of scorers, O’Mahonys made the early running and moved 0-8 to 0-4 clear by the 21st minute. Dunderry halved the deficit within three minutes.

Two of O’Mahonys’ better scores followed with Kevin O’Rourke pointing after a neat move up the left wing with Mark Usher and Paddy Dillon playing supporting roles.
Then came John Foley’s goal at the town end with assistance from Shane Crosby and Mikey Kelly.

By half-time it was 1-10 to 0-7. Things got better when Derek Loughran sent over following Richie Hogan’s long range delivery and seven points separated the sides.

Heading into the latter stages just four points were in it. Foley’s flick was parried by Dunderry ‘keeper Ivan McCormack. Seconds later Chris Harrington fired to the O’Mahonys’ net from a Gilkeson pass.

Dunderry levelled matters on two occasions, but couldn’t get in front as Jim Baker’s men stood up to the challenge and were rewarded with a valuable first win over the campaign.

Next up for Navan O’Mahonys is a round four meeting with Rathmolyon.

O’Mahonys – John Gleeson; Nigel Ryan, Cormac Reilly, Mark Usher; Andrew Snow, Richie Hogan, Paddy Dillon; Shane Crosby, Ciaran McGuinness; Mark O’Rourke, Kevin O’Rourke (0-1), John Foley (1-4, 0-4 fs); Mikey Kelly, Derek Loughran (0-3), Paddy Skehan (0-8, 3fs 2 65s). Subs – David Quirke (0-1) for K O’Rourke (42), Dermot McKenna for Ryan (47).

Dunderry – Ivan McCormack; David Stephens, Evan Stephens, Aaron Feeney; Chris Fitzgerald, Conor O’Shea (0-1), David McCormack (0-1); Conor Farrell, Conor Dempsey (0-1); David Gilkeson (0-5 fs), Brendan Wright, Johnny Moran; Christopher Harrington (1-3), Luke Martyn (0-3), Stephen Coogan (0-1). Subs – Cathal Ryan for Fitzgerald (29), Alex Walsh (0-1) for Moran (48), Jordan Martin for Ryan (60)

Referee – Fergus Smith (Kilcock)