U16 FL Div 1 Final: O’Mahony’s Versus Donaghmore/Ashbourne

By Club PRO


Pairc Tailteann – 17th May 2011

Halftime Score:

Navan O’Mahony’s 1-5
Donaghmore/Ashbourne 1-6

Fulltime Score:

Navan O’Mahony’s 2-11
Donaghmore/Ashbourne 1-7

Navan O’Mahony’s took the title O’Reilly & Co Solicitors U16FL Division 1 champions after finishing strongly in the last 10 mins of the first half and putting in an impressive second half display against Donaghmore/Ashbourne in Pairc Tailteann.

Corey Leddy opened the scores 2 mins after the throw in but O’Mahonys would not score again until over 20 mins later when Duggie Dillon found the net and kicked off a revival of the Brews hill squad. During that 20 min spell it was the Visitors who notched up 1-6 with the breeze at their backs. These included some excellent scores from Kevin Fenton and Michael Deegan (son of former Dublin star Mick Deegan ). O’Mahony’s finished the stronger of the two sides by adding 4 points (Dillon 0-2, Leddy 0-1, Keeleghan 0-1F) in the last 10 mins of the first half to narrow the gap to a single point.

O’Mahonys trailed by a point at the interval and following some good coaching advice in the dressing room from Manager Finian Murtagh, the Navan side continued on where they left off in the second half resumed. It was DonAsh who notched up the first score of the second half through Deegan (free) after 10 minutes of play, but this turned out to be the only score of the 2nd half for DonAsh as they couldn’t halt the charges of Keeleghan, Dillon, Murphy and Gleeson who scored 1-6 between them to pull away from the visitors and lift the cup.

James O’Malley, Sean McEntaggart, Duggie Dillon, Conor Murphy and Conor Gleeson were prominent for the O’Mahonys.
For Donaghmore/Ashbourne, there were impressive performances from Jack McCarney, Darragh McGovern, Deegan, Murtagh and Aidan O’Connor.

Minor Board Chairman John Kavanagh presented the trophy to Navan O’Mahony’s captain Shane Clynch.

Navan O’Mahony’s – Stephen Monaghan, Conor Doyle, James O’Malley, Andrew Leech, Kevin O’Hanlon, Sean McEntaggart, Daragh Greene, Conor Murphy (0-1), Timmie Murtagh, Peter Butler, Shane Clynch ©, Conor Gleeson (0-1), Robert Kelleghan (1-3), David Dillon (1-4), Corey Leddy (0-2).

Substitutions (all made in 2nd half):

Declan McGuinness for Sean McEntaggert.

Brian Gibney for Corey Leddy.

Eibheann McGrane for Robert Keeleghan.

Cormac McEntaggart for Darragh Greene.

Subs – Not Used:

Patrick Leahy, Colm Honan, Thomas Donegan.

Donaghmore/Ashbourne – Jake Wall, Thomas McGovern, Jack McCarney, Cian O’Rourke, Jack Giles, Dylan Brady, Darragh McGovern, Michael Deegan (0-4), Liam Finn, Kevin Fenton (0-1), Conor Donnelly (0-1), Sean Byrne (0-1), Luke Adams, Jamie Murtagh (1-0), Aidan O’Connor. Subs – Podge Twomey, Aidan Kenny.

Ref – Pat Clarke (Seneschalstown).