U16 Hurlers lose out by the narrowest of margins in final

By Club



Na Fianna 4-5

Navan O’Mahony’s 3-7


O’Mahonys were unfortunate to lose out to Na Fianna in the U16B Hurling Championship by the narrowest of margins in Dunganny on Friday evening in a hard fought contest. Having defeated Rathmolyon in a tough semi-final replay, O’Mahonys were forced to line out without their full back line from that match for the final.


The large crowd that turned up were treated to a fine game of hurling played in ideal conditions on a firm sod at the Meath Centre of Excellence. Ronan Byrne opened the scoring for Na Fianna. Mark Slevin got their second point while Peter Slevin got the games opening goal but on each occassion O’Mahony’s hit back with two points from Dylan Byrne and one from Paddy Leahy. Ciaran Casey closed the gap to a point, 1-2 to 0-4, before Na Fianna sprung to life. Peter Slevin got his second goal and this was quickley followed by their third from Will Flynn to put the Enfield Baconstown side into a 3-3 to 0-4 lead heading into the final minutes. A fine goal from Dylan Byrne gave O’Mahonys some hope going into the second half.


O’Mahony’s got a great start to the second period when substitute Gavin Fox got their second goal and the gap was down to two 3-3 to 2-4. On the 15th minute the game swung back in favour of the winners¬†when a 65 from Mark Slevin found its way to the Navan net and Na Fianna were four points up. Ronan Byrne and Ciaran Casey traded points. As the game hung in the balance Dermot McKenna got Navan’s third goal and only a point separated the teams. With two minutes left O’Mahony’s couldn’t create the chance to get an equaliser and Na Fianna held on to win.


After the game Paul Reilly presented the U16B Hurling Championship Cup to Na Fianna captain Jonathan McCloskey.


Na Fianna: Noel O’Sullivan, Ethan O’Gorman, Sean Martin, Ciaran Holton, Evan Mullally, Patrick McCarthy, Ethan Devine, Jonathan McCloskey (0-1), Ronan Byrne (0-2), Mark Slevin (1-2), Will Flynn (1-0), Cian Slattery, Peter Slevin (2-0).


Navan O’Mahony’s: Andrew Kenny, Michael Reilly, Padraig Stafford, Dermot McKenna (1-0),¬†Liam Murphy, Sean Smyth, Ben McEntaggert, Patrick Leahy (0-1), Ciaran Casey (0-2), Padraig Mooney, Cathal McConnell, Colin O’Brien, Dylan Byrne (1-4).
Subs: Gavin Fox (1-0), Patrick Dillon, Thomas Hamilton.


Referee: Stephen Masterson (Boardsmill)