Under 21 FC: O’Mahonys no match for impressive Ratoath

By Club


Ratoath ……….. 4-21

O’Mahonys ……. 1-4

Navan O’Mahonys fell at the first hurdle in the Under 21 FC on Saturday evening at Dunsany where physically superior Ratoath prevailed.

O’Mahonys’ attack lined out without long-term injury victim Alan Forde while the defence had to cope with the services of this year’s captain of the county under-21 side Brian Dillon.

O’Mahonys had the better of the opening 10 minutes of each half and led twice in the early stages of the fixture.

Robbie Keeleghan’s pointed free opened the scoring while a Cathal Smith effort from play came in response to the first of Eamon Wallace’s six points.

Conor Rooney’s 10th minute goal left four points in it. Though O’Mahonys kept Ratoath at bay until the 23rd minute when Cian O’Brien got in for his side’s second goal, it was 2-11 to 0-3 at the interval.

Smith second point was O’Mahonys first score in 22 minutes. Things could have been worse for the Brews Hill outfit but for the efforts of the full-back line led by Conor Doyle.

By the 36th minute the margin was down to 11 points thanks to a well-taken Keeleghan goal that was followed by a Smith free. However, it proved to be O’Mahonys’ final score.

Despite the best effort of Smith and Ruairi O Coileain in attack, Niall McKeigue and Stephen Bray’s charges didn’t make any further impression on the scoresheet.
Ratoath – A Smith; G Eiffe, C McGill, C McCullagh (1-0); G Reilly, B Power, C Nugent; C O’Brien (1-2), E Wallace (0-6); C Rooney (2-3), B O’Brien, N McCabe (0-2); J Wallace (0-4, 1f), G Rooney (0-2), M Daly (0-2). Subs – D Healy for McCabe, R Watters for B O’Brien, B Daly for Nugent, J McGowan for J Wallace.
O’Mahonys – C Honan; J O’Malley, C Doyle, A Leech; G Power, S Stafford, D McGuinness; C Finnegan, J Walsh; R O Coileain, C Smith (0-3, 1f), T Cox; R Keeleghan (1-1, 0-1f), B McEvoy, C McEntaggart. Subs – D Regan for McEntaggart, K O’Hanlon for Finnegan, C Murphy for Cox, B Gibney for Walsh, D Greene for Keeleghan.
Referee – R Morris (Blackhall Gaels)